Final Fantasy XIII – Finally hits the bottom in japan

Troubled blockbuster corridor marathon Final Fantasy XIII is now the subject of humiliating ¥1,980 sales, whilst its sales figures have dropped to record lows.

The sale in question, for new copies of the game:

Presumably the store in question found itself completely unable to shift its stock.

Second-hand, as reported the game is now being bought by stores for ¥1,500-2,500, although some stores are apparently no longer willing to buy. Second-hand stores are routinely offering the game for as little as ¥3,500.

More ominously, the sales figures for Final Fantasy XIII, whilst initially healthy enough, have plummeted to levels far lower than previous titles in the series.

(Columns: weeks 1-8, total sales, percentage of sales concentrated in week 1)

Source: SankakuComplex

My Personal Opinion:

Final Fantasy XIII was a game I was looking forward to big time and while of course, the game was a massive upset to most. I plan to test the waters of it myself, however seeing the drop in price, I assume the same will happen in America so I may wait till then. The only thing I can hope on is that the excuse “It’s to hard to make towns in high definition” will not be used in the Versus version.

    • Alicia
    • February 16th, 2010

    I don’t think I wanna wait…I’ll probably buy it as soon as it comes,since you’d have to give it at least one or two weeks to drop in price…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

